Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Eight new scholars inducted for 2019-20

20 May 2019

The Iron's Academy has inducted eight new apprentices ahead of the 2019-20 season.

Harry Baker, Ben Crosher, Joey Dawson, Daniel Gallimore, Oliver Kemp, Patrick Virgo, Alex Wilkinson and Cameron Wilson will all begin their two-year scholarship with the club when the team returns for pre-season training.                                                                                
A number of those players have already been involved within the under-18's across the 2018-19 season, with the youth side fielding a number of 15 and 16-year-olds particularly towards the end of the campaign.
Academy Manager Tony Daws said: "We are delighted to be able to offer these eight players two-year scholarships with the football club and look forward to working with them to enhance and develop them during their time with us.
"We saw George Hornshaw offered a professional deal with the club in 2018, while Tom Pugh signed his deal a couple of months ago and this will be the aim again with the current first years moving into the second year of their apprenticeship, along with these eight players moving into their first year."
Scunthorpe United Football Club would like to wish all those players the best of luck ahead of their apprenticeships, which is inclusive of those players who will be entering their second of two years.
The Iron would also like to confirm the departure of last year's second-year scholars Louis Collins, Jack Harrison, Miracle Okafor and Sam Riches, who join Joe Busby, Liam Colclough, James Kalu and Cameron Morfoot in leaving the club.
We would like to place on record our thanks for the hard work of the seven departing scholars while at the club and wish them all the best for the future. 

Advertisement block