Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Supporters' groups

Here are details of the Iron's various supporters' groups...


The Iron Trust is a member-led organisation, with many policies coming our of suggestions from members. Below are the easiest ways to them:

They have a presence on Trust Corner (between terrace and Clugston Stand) before every match at Glanford Park, from 2pm on Saturdays and 7pm on midweek kick-offs.

You can email them at, or contact them via Twitter at @irontrust or

You can write to them via their registered address: Iron Trust, 35 Brumby Wood Lane, Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, DN17 1AA.


The Supporters' Club Committee | |

Scunthorpe United's Official Supporters' Club is the voice of all Iron fans. Arranging numerous schemes and events throughout the season, the supporters club is there for you, the fans. Contact the supporters club at


Bernard Griffin, Trusk Road, Ballybofey,Co. Donegal, Rep.of Ireland, Phone (074) 31106 Home or (074) 31008 Work.
Twitter: @IrishIronSC

Peter McAleer, 2 Roxborough Heights, Moy,Co.Tyrone, BT71 7TA, Northern Ireland, Phone 028 8778 4211

2019-20 is our 25th Anniversary Season, There will be 3 different Membership options for our Silver Anniversary Season costing £5/£10/£20 + P&P if required.

Membership will be available at Glanford Park from the Bradford game on April 27th.

Everyone who joins will be entered into free draws for signed Players Kits which we've sponsored.

In 1994/95 Scunthorpe United supporter founder member Bernard Griffin from Donegal asked Don Rowing, the Chief Executive at the time, for permission to set up an Irish Supporters Club, and to use the club crest on their merchandise. In return every penny the supporters group raised goes back to the club as sponsorship. 

The first player sponsorship for 1995/96 was Alan Knill’s socks (at a cost of £10), and Irish Iron (Bernard) sponsored the match ball against Northampton Town on October  15, 1996 

Irish Iron was sole member Bernard until Ben (his son) was born in 1998. Within 15 minutes of his birth he had rung Scunthorpe United F.C. to enrol him as a member. The local and then the national papers got wind of this and he was interviewed by national radio which resulted in people getting in touch to join Irish Iron, which grew from then on.

Membership is not limited to just those who live in Ireland, since those early days Irish Iron have sponsored matches, match balls and lots of players kits since then as well as donating to charities like Help for Heroes and others. We have had members all over the world over the years, Peru, Japan, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, USA, Canada, Norway, Denmark, Spain, and Germany.

You don’t have to be Irish to join, a healthy love of all things Iron is all that’s required!

On March 14, 2015 Scunthorpe United became the first British club to wear and dedicate a special green kit to an overseas supporters club. It was worn in the home game against Sheffield United to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of Irish Iron.

Past Player of the Year Awards

1996/97 David D’Auria
1997/98 Jamie Forrester
1998/99 Alex Calvo-Garcia
1999/00 Lee Hodges
2000/01 Russ Wilcox
2001/02 Alex Calvo-Garcoa
2002/03 Matthew Sparrow
2003/04 Andy Butler
2004/05 Andy Butler
2005/06 Andy Keogh
2006/07 Joe Murphy
2007/08 Joe Murphy
2008/09 Paul Hayes 
2009/10 Paul Hayes 
2010/11 No Award
2011/12 Sam Slocombe
2012/13 No Award
2013/14 Sean McAllister
2014/15 Paddy Madden
2015/16 David Mirfin
2016/17 Stephen Dawson
2017/18 Duane Holmes


The London Supporters' Club was formed in 1987 with the intention of bringing together exiled Scunthorpe fans living in the capital and south east and to make travel to United matches easier and cheaper.

We endeavour to organise trips, by train or by car, to each first team fixture - and if sufficient numbers travel, we can keep costs to a minimum. We also raise funds for United by way of kit and match sponsorship.

We are members of APFSCIL (the Association of Provincial Football Supporters' Clubs in London) and take part in their darts, quiz and football competitions, etc., against other London Supporters' Clubs.

Our darts team have been members of the APFSCIL League for many years and have won both eight-a-side and six-a-side championships in recent years.

Members receive a copy of the club fanzine Iron Filings.


Membership: £8 (adults), £5 (under 16s) £12 (family of two adults plus children) or £10 (overseas).

Contact: Andy Skeels, 30 Randalls Road, Leatherhead, Surrey, KT22 7TQ.



Sarah Mitchell, Secretary, 111 Enderby Road, SCUNTHORPE, North Lincolnshire, DN17 2JL


Scunthorpe United Disabled Supporters Club was formed in 1988 and was started for the purpose to transport disabled supporter's to away games at present we hire the buses for games but we hope to be able to purchase a mini bus soon. We hold fundraising nights through out the year that helps towards the cost of the running costs of the buses Membership costs £2.00 Adults and £1.00 for under 16's.


Winterton Iron supporters group was formed back in 2007 with its main aim to support Scunthorpe United organise transport to selected away games, sponsorship at Scunthorpe United plus other local sport and charitable causes in the area. 

Stuart Maw and his then partner Karen Freeman called a meeting at the Butchers Arms pub with a view to get all the Scunthorpe United fans here to travel together to home and away games with a view of getting more youngsters to attend games. 

The home thing didn't work even when we ran free buses. But unfortunately supporters wanted to go at their preferred times and leave when they wanted. A parking space for the bus was also a problem, so that was soon abandoned. Away travel by rail and coach is now organised for selected matches during the season. 

The group support local charities and raise in excess of £2,500 each year. They also encourage children to support the Iron and sponsor them on a local basis whilst playing for their local team. 

The annual “Bit of a Do” is the major fund raiser each year held at Winterton Rangers F.C. 

The biggest thing the club organised was a Kevin Keegan night which was organised courtesy of Queenie Brownsword, several thousand pounds was raised that night for the Alzheimer’s Society.

Past Player of the Year Awards

2009/10 Paul Hayes 
2010/11 Michael O’Connor 
2011/12 Sam Slocombe 
2012/13 Michael Collins 
2013/14 Sean McAllister 
2014/15 Paddy Madden 
2015/16 David Mirfin 
2016/17 Murray Wallace 
2017/18 Duane Holmes


Doug Parker, Treasurer, Tel (01724) 733837, email, 13 Sowers Lane, Winterton

If any details on this page need updating, please send an email to