Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Morris' second Charlton strike nominated for Mitre Goal of the Year for 2017

30 March 2018

Iron winger Josh Morris’ second goal against Charlton Athletic on November 25, 2017 has been nominated for Mitre Goal of the Year for 2017.

Mitre have once again teamed up with the EFL and Football on 5 to give you the opportunity to vote for the best English Football League goal of 2017!

The top 10 shortlist was aired for the first time on the Channel 5 show on Good Friday, with viewers able to vote for their favourite strike by clicking here. Voting is now open and will close at 9am on Tuesday, April 3, 2018.

The voting will see the shortlist whittled down from 10 to just five, with the overall winner decided on the night of the 2018 EFL Awards.

See below for a reminder of Josh's goal, which has been put forward.

Goals included for the vote are as follows;

Graham Carey -  Blackpool v PLYMOUTH ARGYLE - 30th December 2017
Kevin Ellison -  Exeter City v MORECAMBE - 22nd April 2017
Olly Lee - LUTON TOWN v Cambridge United - 18th November 2017
Marcus Maddison - PETERBOROUGH UNITED v ShrewsBury Town - 28th October 2017
Josh Morris - SCUNTHORPE UNITED v Charlton Athletic - 25th November 2017 
Paul Mullin -  Leyton Orient v MORECAMBE - 7th February 2017
Aiden O’Brien - MILLWALL v Northampton Town - 14th April 2017
Erhun Oztumer -  Bolton Wanderers v WALSALL - 11th February 2017
Adam Reach -  Aston Villa v SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY - 4th November 2017 
Joe Williams -  Burton Albion v BARNSLEY - 31st October 2017

Advertisement block