Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vanarama National League North line-up confirmed for 2023-24

15 May 2023

The Vanarama National League North line-up is complete for 2023-24 following the conclusion of all play-off games and the non-league allocations being published, as announced by the FA.

The division sees South Shields enter following their promotion as Champions from the Northern Premier League Premier Division after finishing with 85 points. Runners-up in that league, Warrington Town, also make the step-up to National League North after narrowly overcoming Bamber Bridge in the play-off final.

Meanwhile, Tamworth, who finished as Champions of the Southern League Premier Division Central are joined with play-off winners Rushall Olympic as the two promoted from that pool.

Brackley Town remain in the division after being edged out by Kidderminster Harriers in the National League North play-off final, with Kiddy making their return to the fifth tier. The side finished in sixth place in the play-offs, with Kings Lynn Town - who finished two points adrift of the Champions and 24 points ahead of Kidderminster - forced to remain in the league by the narrowest of margins for the second successive season.

Elsewhere, the other three relegated sides from the National League all fall within the southern section and will join National League South. As a result, it is Bishops Stortford who are arriving in the division after finishing as Champions of the Isthmian League.

United will once again be playing a number of teams for the first time in their history, while they will also face a handful of sides who have all dropped out of the league over the last couple of decades in Boston United, Chester, Darlington and Hereford, although some of these are phoenix clubs.

The Iron will also play the likes of Scarborough Athletic for the first time since January 1999 and there will be a first league meeting with Alfreton Town, although the two sides did meet in the FA Cup back in 2008.

A full list of teams confirmed for the Vanarama National League North in 2023-24… 

Alfreton Town (5th in National League North)
Banbury United (17th in National League North)
Bishops Stortford (1st in Isthmian League)
Blyth Spartans (19th in National League North)
Boston United (15th in National League North)
Brackley Town (4th in National League North)
Buxton (11th in National League North)
Chester (3rd in National League North)
Chorley (12th in National League North)
Curzon Ashton (13th in National League North)
Darlington (10th in National League North)
Farsley Celtic (20th in National League North)
Gloucester City (7th in National League North)
Hereford (16th in National League North)
Kings Lynn Town (2nd in National League North)
Peterborough Sports (14th in National League North)
Rushall Olympic (5th in Southern League Premier Division Central)
Scarborough Athletic (8th in National League North)
Scunthorpe United (23rd in National League)
Southport (18th in National League North)
South Shields (1st in Northern Premier League Premier Division)
Spennymoor Town (9th in National League North)
Tamworth (1st in Southern League Premier Division Central)
Warrington Town (2nd in Northern Premier League Premier Division)

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account