Skip to main content Skip to site footer

OTD: August 8

8 August 2022

Remembering past matches played by the Iron on August 8...

Current Iron players born on this day: Jai Rowe (2001).

The Iron have never picked up a point when they've opened the season on this date in history, but their solitary point did come in their first home game of the campaign in 2006/07.

United lost 1-0 to Bristol City three days earlier but then welcomed Swansea City to Glanford Park on the opening midweek encounter of the campaign.
Scunthorpe were soon to face just ten men sixteen minutes into the game as Alan Tate saw a straight red card for an excessive challenge in the centre of the pitch. He was duly dismissed by referee Nigel Miller.
The visitors would still go in front though, on the stroke of half time, as Andy Robinson capitalised to fire past Joe Murphy.
It took just four second half minutes for United to draw level as Miller this time pointed to the spot to allow Andy Crosby to restore parity.
Billy Sharp would seize on a mistake on the left of the goal line to advance and fire under Willy Gueret to give Scunthorpe the advantage but the points would be shared with Rory Fallon heading home twelve minutes from time.
In 2017-18, United progressed to round two of the Carabao Cup following a penalty shoot-out victory over Notts County. 
1-0 down at half time, Paddy Madden levelled with a penalty before Duane Holmes slammed the Iron in front with minutes of normal time remaining. The visitors levelled in stoppage time to send the game to extra time, with Madden getting his second to make it 3-2.
Notts County came back to level once more to send the game to penalties, with the two sides the first in the competition to trial the new ABBA format. After 11 successful penalties, substitute Matt Tootle saw his effort saved by Matt Gilks.

Overall playing record for August 8: Played 5, Won 0, Drawn 2, Lost 3, Scored 7, Conceded 13.

The Iron's full record for August 8 is as follows:
2017 LGEC R1 Iron 3-3 Notts County Madden (2), Holmes
2015 LG 1 Burton 2-1 Iron Goode
2009 CHMP  Cardiff 4-0 Iron   
2006 LG 1  Iron 2-2 Swansea  Crosby, Sharp
1998 DIV 3  Shrewsbury 2-1 Iron  Forrester
* After extra time. Scunthorpe win 6-5 on penalties.


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account