Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


15 June 2015

The Capital One Cup draw takes place at 10am on Tuesday, and the seedings have been confirmed for the First Round.

For the Round 1 draw, the seeded teams will be split into two regional groups (based predominantly on a ‘North’ and ‘South’ split), and drawn against an unseeded team from the equivalent pot on a random home or away basis. 

The Iron are unseeded in the draw and could face the likes of Hull City, Leeds United or Sheffield United, who are all seeded and in the northern section.

Last season, United drew Blackburn Rovers at Ewood Park, running out victors following a Neal Bishop first-half header which proved to be the only goal of the game. That set up a second round match against Reading and former manager Nigel Adkins at Glanford Park - to which the Royals edged out Scunthorpe 1-0 with a late strike.

The first round ties will take place in the week commencing Monday, August 10, 2015.

SEEDED TEAMS: Barnsley, Birmingham City, Blackburn Rovers, Blackpool, Bolton Wanderers, Bradford City, Brentford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Bristol City, Burnley, Cardiff City, Charlton Athletic, Chesterfield, Derby County, Fleetwood Town, Fulham, Gillingham, Huddersfield Town, Hull City, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Middlesbrough, Millwall, Milton Keynes Dons, Nottingham Forest, Peterborough United, Preston North End, Queens Park Rangers, Reading, Rochdale, Rotherham United, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Swindon Town, Wigan Athletic, Wolverhampton Wanderers.

UNSEEDED TEAMS: Accrington Stanley, AFC Wimbledon, Barnet, Bristol Rovers, Burton Albion, Bury, Cambridge United, Carlisle United, Colchester United, Coventry City, Crawley Town, Crewe Alexandra, Dagenham & Redbridge, Doncaster Rovers, Exeter City, Hartlepool United, Leyton Orient, Luton Town, Mansfield Town, Morecambe, Newport County, Northampton Town, Notts County, Oldham Athletic, Oxford United, Plymouth Argyle, Port Vale, Portsmouth, Scunthorpe United, Shrewsbury Town, Southend United, Stevenage, Walsall, Wycombe Wanderers, Yeovil Town, York City.

*The two groups will be subject to a north / south divide, to be confirmed.

Advertisement block