Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Player of the season awards


The first time that United had an official end of season player of the year was in 1971-72 when the accolade was awarded to goalkeeper Geoff Barnard.

The award became known as the Ernie Storey Memorial Trophy in 1974-75 when the first recipient became Angus Davidson.

The end of season award continues to this day and is the final accolade announced at awards dinners and is known as the club's main player of the season honour.

Who was Ernie Storey?

Ernie Storey was a long-serving member of the Iron's office workers, initially arriving at United as Assistant Club Secretary in 1957.

16 years later, following dedicated service in that role, it was announced that he was to upgrade to Club Secretary on Friday, September 21, 1973 following the retirement of Ken Cowling a week prior.

Sadly, Ernie Storey passed away in the summer of 1974 after less than a year as Club Secretary and the trophy was renamed in his memory for the end of the following campaign.

It was announced that Mrs Sheila Louth would leave her role at Doncaster Rovers to become Ernie's successor on Wednesday, August 21, 1974.

Past Winners

1971-72 Geoff Barnard
1972-73 Don Welbourne
1973-74 No Award
1974-75 Angus Davidson
1975-76 Rick Green
1976-77 Clive Wiggington
1977-78 Mike Czuczman 
1978-79 Graeme Crawford
1979-80 Malcolm Partridge
1980-81 Vince Grimes
1981-82 Paul Moss
1982-83 Les Hunter
1983-84 Joe Neenan
1984-85 Steve Cammack
1985-86 Alan Whitehead
1986-87 Steve Johnson
1987-88 David Harle
1988-89 Paul Musselwhite
1989-90 Paul Longden
1990-91 Stuart Hicks
1991-92 Dean Martin
1992-93 Matt Elliott
1993-94 Graham Alexander
1994-95 Mark Samways
1995-96 Tony Ford
1996-97 John Eyre
1997-98 Chris Hope
1998-99 Paul Harsley
1999-00 Lee Hodges
2000-01 Russ Wilcox
2001-02 Mark Jackson
2002-03 Matt Sparrow
2003-04 Steve MacLean
2004-05 Andy Butler
2005-06 Richard Hinds
2006-07 Steve Foster
2007-08 Jack Cork

Gary Hooper

2009-10 Paul Hayes
2010-11 Sam Togwell
2011-12 Sam Slocombe
2012-13 Mark Duffy
2013-14 Sean McAllister
2014-15 Paddy Madden
2015-16 David Mirfin
2016-17 Murray Wallace
2017-18 Duane Holmes
2018-19 Lee Novak
2019-20 Kevin van Veen
2020-21 Alex Gilliead
2021-22 Rory Watson
2022-23 Reagan Ogle

Youth POTY Past Winners

Our first records of a young player of the year awards go back to 1990 when Alun Evans became the first recipient of the accolade.

We have a few gaps in our records for the young player of the year, so if you can help and verify any gaps, please email

1990-91 Alun Evans
1991-92 Tim Ryan
1992-93 Tim Ryan (YPOTY Steve Housham)
1993-94 Christian Sansam
1994-95 Steve Housham
1995-96 Michael Walsh
1996-97 Karl Handley
1997-98 Alex Harle
1998-99 Gareth Sheldon
1999-00 Lee Ridley
2000-01 Jamie McCombe
2001-02 Andy Butler
2002-03 No award
2003-04 Unknown (contact if you can verify this information)
2004-05 Andrew Brown
2005-06 Josh Lillis
2006-07 Peter Winn
2007-08 Jake Picton
2008-09 Niall Canavan
2009-10 Ashley Palmer
2010-11 Ashley Palmer
2011-12 Callum Howe
2012-13 Jamie Wootton
2013-14 Hakeeb Adelakun
2014-15 Kyle Wootton
2015-16 Noel Burdett and Jack Dyche
2016-17 Lewis Butroid
2017-18 George Hornshaw
2018-19 Tom Pugh
2019-20 Tom Collins
2020-21 Joey Dawson
2021-22 Owen Foster
2022-23 Owen Foster
iFollow Next Match Tickets Account