The Vanarama National League line-up is complete for 2022-23 following the conclusion of the Play-Off Final, played at West Ham United’s London Stadium.

The division returns to 24 teams competing within it following two campaigns with 23 teams, with Kings Lynn Town, Weymouth and Dover Athletic relegated down to the next level of English football.

Grimsby Town secured promotion from the National League following their extra time victory over Solihull Moors in the play-off final, joining Stockport County who made their long awaited return to the EFL as Champions of the division.

Gateshead, York City, Maidstone United and Dorking Wanderers all enter the National League following promotion from National League’s North and South, respectively, while Oldham Athletic join the Iron in the division after their own 115-year stay in the EFL came to an end. 

United will be playing a number of teams for the first time in their history, while they will also face a handful of sides who have all dropped out of the league over the last couple of decades in Chesterfield, Dagenham and Redbridge, Notts County, Southend United, Torquay United, Wrexham, Yeovil Town and York City.

The Iron will also play the likes of Maidstone United for the first time since 1992, Gateshead since 1958 and Aldershot Town in the league for the first time since 1991 - albeit United faced the Shots in the FA Cup in 2005.

A full list of teams confirmed for the Vanarama National League in 2022-23… 

Aldershot Town (20th in National League)
Altrincham (14th in National League)
Barnet (18th in National League)
Boreham Wood (9th in National League)
Bromley (10th in National League)
Chesterfield (7th in National League)
Dagenham and Redbridge (8th in National League)
Dorking Wanderers (2nd in National League South)
Eastleigh (19th in National League)
Gateshead (1st in National League North)
Halifax Town (4th in National League)
Maidenhead United (17th in National League)
Maidstone United (1st in National League South)
Notts County (5th in National League)
Oldham Athletic (23rd in League Two)
Scunthorpe United (24th in League Two)
Solihull Moors (3rd in National League)
Southend United (13th in National League)
Torquay United (11th in National League)
Wealdstone (16th in National League)
Woking (15th in National League)
Wrexham (2nd in National League)
Yeovil Town (12th in National League)
York City (5th in National League North)

Follow Us

Close navigation