Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Butroid wins EFL award

9 April 2017

Iron left-back Lewis Butroid has been named League One LFE Apprentice of the Year at the 2017 EFL Awards.

He beat off competition from Walsall's Callum Cockerill-Mollet and Rochdale's Matthew Gillam to claim the award.

The 18-year-old, who signed his first professional deal with United in January, received the honour at the awards ceremony in London on Sunday evening.

Butroid made his professional debut with an exceptional performance in United's 2-1 victory over Middlesbrough U21's in the Checkatrade Trophy last August and has captained his academy side all through the campaign.

Click here to see an EFL video regarding the award.

"Lewis signed for us as an Under-9 ten years ago now," said academy manager Tony Daws.

"He made good progress through as a left-back and came all the way through our system.

"He's captain of the youth team, displays a terrific attitude, is punctual, a good leader, and motivates his team-mates as well as himself.

"Lewis made his debut in the first team against Middlesbrough (in the Checkatrade Trophy in August) and did really well. He was named man of the match.

"He's kept a level head and has worked really hard at his game.

"He's also working really hard at college at well, which is important.

"He has a great work ethic and is a player we're really proud of."

"I supported Scunthorpe growing up," explained Butroid.

"I had a season ticket before I was actually signed (for the academy).

"I was told the day before (my debut) and, from the minute I was told, I was quite nervous and couldn't really stop thinking about how it was going to go.

"You have all manner of situations running through your head about what might happen on the pitch but it couldn't have gone any better for me."

Midfielder Josh Morris was also formally named in the EFL Team of the Season at the awards ceremony. So far this season, he has scored 20 goals and set up 14 more.

The full team is as follows:

Stockdale (Brighton)
McLaughlin (Fleetwood)
Jansson (Leeds)
Bradley (Plymouth)
Stevens (Portsmouth)
Mooy (Huddersfield)
Morris (Scunthorpe)
Knockaert (Brighton)
Wood (Leeds)
Gayle (Newcastle)
Sharp (Sheffield United)

Morris was shortlisted but missed out on the EFL League One Player of the Year honour, with Sheffield United's ex-Iron striker Billy Sharp winning the award.

Click here to see the full list of winners from the ceremony.

Tweets by @SUFCOfficial

Advertisement block