Skip to main content Skip to site footer

OTD: October 2

2 October 2021

Remembering past matches played by the Iron on October 2...

Former players born on this day: Angus Davidson (1948), Graham Foxton (1949), Jim Lumby (1954), Carl Bradshaw (1968), Jamie Wootton (1994).

United's last game on this day came in October 2018 when they defeated Charlton Athletic 5-3 at home.

Stephen Humphrys struck the final, telling blow in stoppage time, settling a see-saw contest which repeatedly swung one way and then the other before the Addicks finally succumbed to a first loss in seven.

Scunthorpe had drawn first blood in the third minute when centre-back Charlie Goode applied the simplest of touches to steer the ball home from a corner and the early goal lit the blue touch paper.

Charlton quickly came roaring back with former Iron striker Lyle Taylor nodding in an equaliser and then setting up the second for Joe Aribo as the Addicks notched twice in four minutes to turn the contest on its head.

Just when the visitors looked to be in the ascendancy, on-loan Manchester United full-back Cameron Borthwick-Jackson rattled in his first senior goal, catching out visiting goalkeeper Jed Steer from 20 yards to make it all-square again.

And he did not have to wait long for his second, finishing coolly this time from inside the penalty area eight minutes later after exchanging passes with Humphrys.

The second half was not quite as action-packed as the opening 45 minutes, though Charlton did draw level via Aribo's second of the night after he had got in behind the Scunthorpe defence.

Again, though, the home side's response was almost instant, with Josh Morris firing home from the penalty spot after defender Jason Pearce was adjudged to have handled a cross into the box.

Humphrys made the result safe with a close-range finish at the death.

Overall playing record for October 2: Played 16, Won 7, Drawn 3, Lost 6, Scored 28, Conceded 23.

The Iron's full record for October 2 is as follows: 
2018 LG 1 Iron 5-3 Charlton Goode, Borthwick-Jackson (2), Morris, Humphrys
2012 LG 1 Iron 1-3 Tranmere Hawley
2010 CHAMP Leicester 3-1 Iron O'Connor
2007 CHAMP Norwich 0-0 Iron  
2004 LG 2 Boston 2-1 Iron Hayes
1999 DIV 2 Stoke 1-0 Iron  
1993 DIV 3 Iron 1-1 Scarborough Thompstone
1990 DIV 4 Walsall 3-0 Iron  
1982 DIV 4 Iron 2-1 Colchester O'Berg, Angus
1979 DIV 4 York 2-0 Iron  
1976 DIV 4 Iron 2-0 Hartlepool Keeley, Davidson
1971 DIV 4 Iron 3-1 Darlington Kisby, Davidson, Heath
1965 DIV 3 Oldham 1-3 Iron Barton, Bedford, Colquhoun
1962 LGC R2 rep Iron 2-2 Southampton Gibson, Godfrey
1954 DIV 3N Iron 4-0 Accrington Brown (2), Turner, Haigh
1952 DIV 3N Iron 3-0 Southport Daley, Haigh, Whitfield

Advertisement block