Skip to main content Skip to site footer

OTD: August 25

24 August 2021

Remembering past matches played by the Iron on August 25...

Former Iron players born on this day: Harry Kirk (1944), Dave Rogers (1975), Joe Lolley (1992).

The Iron's last win on this day came in 2009 following a highly dramatic and controversial League Cup tie away at Swansea City. 

The hosts ended with eight men and lost two players to injury, with the latter player that got injured forced to sit on the side of the pitch to prevent the game from being abandoned.
United took the lead when Niall Canavan rose highest to nod in Josh Wright's corner.
Stephen Dobbie levelled the scores in the 78th minute to force extra time but that came after Garry Monk saw red for an off-the-ball incident with Michael O'Connor.
Seven minutes into extra time, the Swans lost Dobbie through injury with Scunthorpe awarded a penalty 12 minutes later following a handball, with Gary Hooper firing his side ahead.
Gorka Pintado was dismissed for a dangerous tackle with four minutes remaining, while Angel Rangel also followed him for an early bath moments later following an elbow.
Idrisaj went down injury, but with minutes remaining he sat on the side of the pitch to allow the match to conclude to 120 minutes.
Overall playing record for August 25: Played 19, Won 7, Drawn 3, Lost 9, Scored 29, Conceded 33.

The Iron's full record for August 25 is as follows:
2018 LG 1 Iron 2-2 Barnsley Morris, Burgess
2012 LG 1  Iron 0-4 Yeovil Town  
2011  LG CUP    Iron 1-2 Newcastle Dagnall
2009  LG CUP Swansea 1-2 Iron Canavan, Hooper (pen)
2007 CHAMP Bristol City 2-1 Iron Paterson
2004   LG CUP Nottingham Forest 2-0 Iron  
2001   LD 3 Exeter City 0-4 Iron Carruthers (2), Grant, Bradshaw
1992 LG CUP Iron 2-0 Darlington Daws, Alexander
1990 DIV 4 Iron 2-0 Blackpool Flounders, Hamilton
1984  DIV 4 Chester City 1-1 Iron Whitehead
1979    DIV 4  Portsmouth 6-1 Iron Pilling
1978  DIV 4 Iron 3-1 Huddersfield   Pilling, Grimes, Kilmore
1973    DIV 4 Lincoln City 1-0 Iron  
1967 DIV 3 Iron 3-3 Mansfield Town Sloan, Barton (pen), Burrows
1965 DIV 3 Iron 0-1 Mansfield Town  
1962 DIV 2 Grimsby Town 3-0 Iron  
1960 DIV 2 Iron 4-0 Ipswich Town Marriott, Neale, Thomas, Godfrey
1956 DIV 3N Barrow 1-2 Iron Brown, Fletcher
1951 DIV 3N Hartlepools United 3-1 Iron Powell

Advertisement block