Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy groups revealed for EFL Clubs

7 July 2017

The 16 groups for the 2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy have been revealed for all 48 League One and League Two Clubs.

The groups, which are split into Northern and Southern sections, each currently contain three EFL clubs with a fourth to be added on Wednesday 12th July when the 16 invited Under-21 teams are drawn.

EFL clubs have been placed into their respective groups in order to minimise overall travel for EFL clubs and fans following feedback from clubs.

This process will be reviewed at the end of the season. The group stage fixtures will also be confirmed next Wednesday, with invited under 21 teams to play all group games away from home.

The group featuring the Iron is as follows:

Group H
Doncaster Rovers
Grimsby Town
Scunthorpe United
Category 1 Club

Northern Category 1 Clubs (one of which will be drawn to face the Iron)
Leicester City
Manchester City
Newcastle United
Stoke City
West Bromwich Albion

Visit to see the full northern and southern groups.

Advertisement block