Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


9 February 2017

Help find our best goal of 2016!

The EFL have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2016 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any EFL competition in the 2016 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet EFL, the EFL Cup and the Checkatrade Trophy.

We've whittled the selections down to nine - the strikes you voted as goal of the month's throughout 2016. Below is a video of all nine goals and each selection. We will whittle that selection down to four goals for a Twitter poll next week to decide the overall winner.

You can let us know your favourite out of the nine in the meantime by replying to posts on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and Instagram.

GOAL A: January - Paddy Madden v Colchester United
GOAL B: February - Gary McSheffrey v Millwall
GOAL C: March - Jordan Clarke v Swindon Town
GOAL D: April / May - Paddy Madden v Port Vale
GOAL E: August - Kevin van Veen v Fleetwood Town
GOAL F: September - Josh Morris v Walsall
GOAL G: October - Josh Morris v Bury
GOAL H: November - Scott Wiseman v Oldham Athletic
GOAL I: December - Neal Bishop v Bolton Wanderers

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday 9th April 2017 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London. A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football on Five Goal Rush. Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at 9th April 2017.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday), Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about the EFL Awards please visit

Tweets by @SUFCOfficial

Advertisement block