Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Look out for ball 24 in tonight's Carabao Cup round two draw

10 August 2017

The Iron are ball number 24 in the Northern Section of tonight's Carabao Cup second round draw.

The draw will take place on Sky Sports News following the conclusion of the Bury v Sunderland tie from approximately 10pm.

The draw, which remains seeded and unseeded, has been regionalised to avoid a fixture scheduling complication involving West Ham United and Newport County, who have both been given special dispensation by the EFL Board to play their Round Two ties away from their home grounds. 

Newport County have been placed in the Northern half of the draw to ensure there is no chance of the two teams being drawn together. 

The regional groups and draw numbers are as follows:

1 Aston Villa   1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Burnley   2 Brentford
3 Derby County or Grimsby Town   3 Brighton and Hove Albion
4 Huddersfield Town   4 Cardiff City
5 Hull City   5 Crystal Palace
6 Leeds United   6 Fulham
7 Leicester City   7 Norwich City
8 Middlesbrough   8 Reading
9 Newcastle United   9 Southampton
10 Sheffield Wednesday   10 Swansea City
11 Stoke City   11 Watford
12 West Bromwich Albion   12 West Ham United
13 Sunderland or Barnsley*      
14 Bury or Barnsley*   13 Barnet
15 Accrington Stanley   14 Birmingham City
16 Blackburn Rovers   15 Bristol City
17 Bolton Wanderers   16 Bristol Rovers
18 Carlisle United   17 Burton Albion
19 Doncaster Rovers   18 Charlton Athletic
20 Newport County   19 Cheltenham Town
21 Nottingham Forest   20 Ipswich Town
22 Rochdale   21 Millwall
23 Rotherham United   22 Milton Keynes Dons
24 Scunthorpe United   23 Queens Park Rangers
25 Sheffield United   24 Wolverhampton Wanderers
26 Wigan Athletic      

*In the event Sunderland overcome Bury this evening at the Energy Check Stadium at Gigg Lane, Barnsley will drop into the unseeded pot. If there is a home win then the Oakwell Club will be seeded at ball number 13 in the Northern draw and Bury will be ball 14. 

In addition, the winners of the outstanding fixture between Grimsby Town and Derby County (rearranged to be played on August 22) will be ball 3 in the North seeded pot. This is because Derby County would have been a seeded team if they had won Tuesday’s night’s abandoned game based on last season’s final league position. 

Meanwhile, the EFL have today confirmed that the Round Three draw, in conjunction with cup sponsors Carabao, will take place in Beijing, China on August 24, 2017. Full details to be announced in due course.

Advertisement block