Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


27 July 2016

The EFL have confirmed the sixteen invited teams to take part in the EFL Trophy this season.

Leicester City, Southampton, West Ham United, Stoke City, Chelsea, Everton, Swansea City, West Bromwich Albion, Sunderland, Norwich City, Middlesbrough, Brighton and Hove Albion, Derby County, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Blackburn Rovers and Reading will all take part in the competition along with the other 48 teams from Sky Bet League's One and Two.

As part of the commitment to participate, Category 1 sides are required to play their home group game at their first team stadium. Due to the unique nature of their tenancy, West Ham United will be permitted to play all their group games away from home. If they progress to the later stages of the competition, this position will reviewed

The draw will take place at 10am on Wednesday, July 27, 2016 at our Operations Centre in Preston. Preston North End Manager Simon Grayson will assist Football Services Director, David Cookson, in conducting the draw. The draw will be announced via the EFL’s official Twitter account and on Our Communications team will distribute a news release on conclusion of the draw.

The draw will be split into four categories – Northern Section 1, Northern Section 2, Southern Section 1 and Southern Section 2.

Advertisement block