Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


5 January 2016

Send in your Iron Goal of the Year nominations...

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2015 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2015 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by initially emailing your favourite goals of 2015 to, tweeting a response to @SUFCOfficial using hashtag #IronMitreGoaloftheYear or doing the same on Facebook, replying to our post.

We will then draw up a shortlist and put a poll on Twitter to decide which goal will go forward to represent United in the Football League Awards. 

So whether you thought one of Kevin van Veen's efforts should be put forward, such as his first Iron goal with a delicate chip against Swindon or a similar effort following a solo run against Oldham, one from Gary McSheffrey, Paddy Madden or any other Iron player, we want to hear from you. Scunthorpe United notched 70 goals in all competitions in 2015, but which one was your favourite?

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2016 held at Manchester Central. A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football League Tonight Show. Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at Manchester Central on 17th April 2016.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Tweets by @SUFCOfficial

Advertisement block