Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


31 October 2014

The Iron travel to Peterborough United on Saturday, which will be the 49th meeting between the two clubs.

Last Time Out:
The previous encounter between the Posh and the Iron came in March 2010 at Glanford Park. The Championship fixture saw Scunthorpe run out 4-0 winners as Nigel Adkin’s side took revenge for a defeat at London Road earlier in the season. Paul Hayes, Sam Togwell and a brace from Garry Thompson moved the Iron five points clear of the relegation zone and 14 points above the Posh, who sat rock bottom of the League.

Posh Win:
In the 2009/2010 season, Peterborough overcame the Iron 3-0 at London Road. It proved to be a special day for Peterborough’s George Boyd as he celebrated breaking the club’s record for consecutive appearances, 126 straight appearances, with a brace to move Peterborough out of the Championship’s relegation zone. Boyd opened the scoring after 25 minutes and added a penalty in the second half. He also assisted Craig Mackail Smith’s goal to round off his record breaking day.

Iron’s First Win In Promotion Year:
Scunthorpe United ended a three game losing streak by beating the Posh 1-0 at London Road in 2008. The League One fixture was settled by a Paul Hayes penalty in the 44th minute, following a foul on Marcus Williams. Joe Murphy kept a clean sheet as he denied an Aaron Mclean header and Craig Mackail Smith’s close range drive. It was the Iron’s first win of the season and built the foundation for Nigel Adkin’s promotion winning side, which was via the play offs. Darren Ferguson’s Posh were also promoted that season as they finished runners up to go up automatically.

Other memorable scorelines;
Peterborough 3-2 Scunthorpe, 16 September 1968
Scunthorpe 5-2 Peterborough, 20 October 1970
Scunthorpe 3-0 Peterborough, 26 April 1983
Scunthorpe 5-0 Peterborough, 27 February 1988
Scunthorpe 1-3 Peterborough, 10 January 1998   

Advertisement block