Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


3 December 2014

Paddy Madden’s deadly double at Oakwell on Saturday earned the Scunthorpe United striker a place in the Sky Bet Football League’s Team of the Week.

The Irishman netted his eighth and ninth goals of the campaign when the Iron were 2-1 winners against Barnsley.

His first strike came within 60 seconds of the Claret and Blue going a goal down. After Gary McSheffrey’s shot was deflected, the 24-year-old was there to follow it up and level the visiting side in South Yorkshire.

United’s and Madden’s second came on the back of an individual piece of brilliance. In stoppage time in the first half, the ball fell to Madden inside the Iron’s half and he drove forward into Barnsley’s half and then their box, twisting and turning to get the better of the defenders.

Once he beat his man, the space opened up for him and he neatly finished past former Chelsea goalkeeper Ross Turnbull to give Mark Robins’ men the lead before the break.

His wonderful solo effort contributed to a terrific game from Madden, who is United’s top scorer in 23 appearances this term.

The Football League select a weekly XI of top performers from the three divisions - Championship and Leagues One and Two - and Madden was selected alongside MK Dons forward Benik Afobe, who bagged a hat-trick against Colchester.

Talking to The Iron Player after the game, Mark Robins praised his forward.

“Paddy goes out and performs and gets in positions to score goals,” he said.

“He could have had five or six goals since I came in and he beats himself up for that.

“He’s already a proven goalscorer at this level for Yeovil and he’s a real handful for the opposition.

“That will give him a great deal of confidence and I’m asking him to do a job for me; I’m asking him to do me a favour.

“He does that brilliantly, because his work rate is absolutely phenomenal.”

The full Football League Team of the Week can be seen below:
Simon Eastwood (Blackburn Rovers)
Defenders: Alfie Mawson (Wycombe Wanderers), Jake Cooper (Reading), John Egan (Gillingham), Stephen Warnock (Leeds United);
Midfielders: Lasse Vigen Christensen (Fulham), Danny Philliskirk (Oldham Athletic), Luke Freeman (Bristol City), Shaun Whalley (Luton Town);
Forwards: Paddy Madden (Scunthorpe United), Benik Afobe (Milton Keynes Dons);
Manager: Justin Edinburgh (Newport County).

Advertisement block